The Prof. E. Sampathkumar and Dr. B.Devadas Acharya (ESDA) Prize in Graphs and Combinatorics is announced every year on the 17th of September. The prize recognizes seminal contributions in areas of Graph Theory and Combinatorics.


Individuals who have completed their Ph.D. thesis in the previous 3 years (ending March of this year) can apply by uploading their thesis and the published research papers which were considered for the award of the thesis. Published research papers of high quality which are later to the award of the Ph.D. thesis can also be combined with the application.

Applications will be held valid for the remaining number of years after the year of completion of the Ph.D. if the work makes it to the final list. It is not required to re-apply for the succeeding years.


Anyone can nominate a Ph.D. awardee by submitting the details of the nominee in the nomination form below. Nominees are contacted by email and asked to complete the process by submitting their work for the prize. Nomination details and the details of the work submitted are sent to the prize committee for evaluation.


The prize committee prepares a report considering the advice of experts in the relevant fields. This along with the list of preliminary candidates is submitted to the board. The board meets to choose the awardee by a majority vote. Their decision cannot be appealed. The decision is announced on 17-September, the birthday of Dr. B.Devadas Acharya, every year.
If you know of a recent Ph.D. awardee in the area of Graphs and Combinatorics, then you may nominate the person for the prize by filling up the below form.

Once a nomination is received by us the nominee will receive an invitation to submit his/her thesis to the ESDA Prize committee for consideration.

Please read the guidelines to upload before you submit your thesis and the associated work.